UPM Applied Physics Students and Faculty Win Awards at the 2024 Philippine Conference on Medical Physics

Students and faculty members from the University of the Philippines Manila (UPM) participated at the recently concluded 2024 Philippine Conference on Medical Physics (PCMP) with the theme “Harnessing Medical Physics for Advanced Patient Care”. Held at the Marco Polo Hotel in Cebu City on May 10-11, 2024, the event gathered experts, researchers, and students to discuss advancements and innovations in the field of medical physics.

In the oral presentations category, Juzzel Ian Zerrudo, a senior lecturer at UPM and Health Physicist III from Batangas Medical Center, was awarded First Prize with his study entitled “Evaluation of the Diagnostic Performance of a computer-aided detection system for pulmonary tuberculosis”. Ma. Adela Arenas secured the Second Place with her research on “Evaluation of the Neutron Spectra in the Linac Facility of PGH using In-based Multi-shell Neutron Spectrometer (In-MuNS)” in partnership with the Philippine Nuclear Research Institute (PNRI). Meanwhile, Christine Loja, won Third Place with her study on “Development of 3D-Printed Gynecological Phantom for the QA of Brachytherapy Treatment in Cervical Cancer”.

MSAP students and event volunteers
Sir Elrick and Sir Ian inducted as board-certified medical physicists
Meanwhile, six UPM students participated in the poster presentation category. Juanito Bien Aurestila placed first with his study on “Evaluation of the Radiation Attenuation Ability of the Philippine Natural Bentonite (PNB) blended with eggshell and crab shell powder”. Maria Cecila Rosero secured the Second Place with her investigation on “Radiation shielding properties of the Philippine Natural Zeolite (PNZ)-mixed concrete”. Lastly, Pamela Bayoca, a UPM Applied Physics alumna, won third prize for her undergraduate thesis on “Impact of Tube current and slice thickness on dose levels and image quality for ASIR-V Algorithm on adult head CT: A phantom study”.
During the event, Ramon Carlo Cruzpero, Senior Lecturer under the Department of Physical Sciences and Mathematics (DPSM) of the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) was announced as the new President of the Society of Medical Physicists in the Republic of the Philippines (SMPRP).
Fellow DPSM faculties Elrick Inocencio and Juzzel Ian Zerrudo, also took their oath as board-certified medical physicists after completing their clinical residency. Additionally, Julia Posadas, a senior lecturer, and Jacob Mata, a notable alumnus of the BS Applied Physics program, delivered insightful talks related to their respective practices.
Among the event hosts were DPSM faculty members Eric Inocencio and Bea Carandang. CAS congratulates the UPM’s Applied Physics students and faculty members for their performance at the 2024 PCMP.