Department of Behavioral Sciences (DBS)

Vision

A center of excellence in Behavioral Sciences and health policy, guided by the ideals of  integrity, service, professionalism, nationalism and internationalism.

 


Mission

  • To be the provider and leader of excellent and responsive education, research and service in the Behavioral Sciences and health policy.

 


Program Offered

  • Bachelor of Arts in Behavioral Sciences
    • The program uses an interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary approach, integrating the fields of Anthropology, Psychology, and Sociology to equip students with the knowledge and skills to understand the dynamics of human behavior and related issues in the context of the Filipino psyche, society and culture.

      Click here to see |Curriculum


Faculty

Enrico Uy Baula, MA

Senior Lecturer

Environmental Health Social Science and Gender

eubaula@up.edu.ph

 

Dindo P Cafe, MA

Assistant Professor

Sociology

dpcafe@up.edu.ph

Eleanor R Carballo, MA, RGC

Senior Lecturer

Counseling and Group Process, Life skills coaching and program design, Career Development and Guidance, Clinical Psychology Intervention

ercarballo@up.edu.ph

Marilyn E Crisostomo, MPH, MSPH

Senior Lecturer

Health policy and health care systems/delivery researches, Biostatistics and Epidemiology

mecrisostomo@up.edu.ph

Ma Teresa G De Guzman, PhD

Professor

Anthropology | Field of Interest : Disaster Risk Reduction, Indigenous peoples, Indigenous Knowldege Systems and Practices, Cultural Heritage Impact Assessment, Ethnoliguistics

mgdeguzman3@up.edu.ph

Jocelyn C Del Mundo, PhD

Professor

Georgraphy, Demography, Sociology, and Philippine Studies

jcdelmundo@up.edu.ph

Leonardo R Estacio Jr, PhD

Professor

Research, training, advocacy and public service engagements in the following areas: Drug abuse and addiction, violence against children, public health policy and program development, quantitative and mixed methods research, biodiversity conservation, community organizing and development, IP rights and indigeneous knowledge system and practices (IKSP)

lrestacio@up.edu.ph

Archie Lawrence P Geneta, MA, RPsy

Assistant Professor

Personality Psychology, Clinical Psychology, Gender studies, Self and Identity studies, Counseling and Personality Growth and Behavior Change Communication

apgeneta@up.edu.ph

Laufred I Hernandez, MMPM, MA

Professor

Medical Anthropology, Public and Community Health, Gender and Sexualities, Reproductive and Sexual Health, Health Policy and Program Development, Health Social Science and Qualitative and Quantative Health Research Methods

lihernandez@up.edu.ph

Andrea B Martinez, MAEd

Assistant Professor

Clinical Psychology, Education, Migrant Issues, Behavioral Science

abmartinez@up.edu.ph

Gaea Marelle J Miranda, RPsy, MSc 

Assistant Professor

Clinical Psychology, Social Science Research

gjmiranda@up.edu.ph

Marie Diane Y Monsada, MA 

Assistant Professor

Developmental psychology, children’s development, psychological assessment, individual   therapy, teen problems, relationship issues, family issues, single parenting

mymonsada@up.edu.ph

Patrick P Patriwirawan Jr, MIR 

Lecturer 

Human Resource Management, Organization Development, Industrial Relations, and Labor Policy Research

pppatriwirawan1@up.edu.ph

Ma Irene N Quilantang, MA

Assistant Professor

Behavioral Sciences, Psychology, Applied Behavior
Analysis, Behavior Therapy, Children with Special Needs

mnquilantang@up.edu.ph

Nymia Pimentel Simbulan, DrPH

Professor

Sociology, Public Health Promotion and Education, Human Rights and Development

npsimbulan@up.edu.ph

Janelle Rose D Tan, 

Instructor

Psychology

jdtan3@up.edu.ph