Department of Arts and Communication (DAC)

Vision

A diverse community of artists, professionals, and scholars  engaged in interdisciplinary teaching and research, and public service in the arts, communication, and health


Mission

  • To provide a more holistic approach to health education by applying complementary frameworks that encompass human experience and creativity
  • To produce graduates with a humanistic, cultural, and spiritual orientation in health, and communicative skills and competence in various linguistic modes and media in the context of arts in communities and organizations
  • To apply the arts and various artistic traditions for nation-building, social transformation, and bridging local, national, and international tangible and intangible artistic heritage for a holistic human well-being


Programs Offered

  • Bachelor of Arts in Organizational Communication
    • This program seeks to address the ever-increasing demand for expertise in modern communication as related to organizations in the Philippines.
    • The program aims to present a holistic perspective of organizational dynamics in the modern century by focusing on organization-related communication skills.
    • Click here to see the curriculum
  • Bachelor of Arts in Philippine Arts
    • The program focuses on the study of Philippine art within the context of national culture and history, with special attention to its contribution to the definition and formation of a national identity and the role it plays in social transformation.
    • The program provides rich sources of information and insights into Filipino consciousness and values that are essential to the student’s appreciation of his/her cultural heritage and understanding of himself/herself and his/her relationship with society.


Faculty

Honey Libertine Achanzar-Labor, PhD

Professor

Anthropology of Art, Art History, Heritage Management and Conservation, Medical Anthropology, Museology

hrachanzarlabor@up.edu.ph

Alice B Adeva, MA

Assistant Professor 

Speech Communication, Health Communication

abadeva@up.edu.ph

Diana R Agbayani, PhD

Associate Professor 

Organizational Communication, Health Communication 

 

Katherine B Arceta, MM

Assistant Professor 

Organizational Communication 

kbarceta@up.edu.ph

Ermani M Barrientos

Lecturer

Public Relations, Corporate Communication

embarrientos@up.edu.ph

 

Jessalyn Martinez Basco

Instructor

Arts, Arts Management, Philippine Arts, Cultural Heritage, Architecture

jmbasco@up.edu.ph

Donna Aelred C Bautista, PhD

Associate Professor 

Arts, Aesthetics

dcbautista@up.edu.ph

 

Juliet R Bien, MA

Assistant Professor 

Ethnomusicology, Philippine Art

jrbien@up.edu.ph

Celia M Bonilla, MA 

Assistant Professor

Art History, Communication

 

Dominador Antonio T Bustamante

Senior Lecturer

Public Relations

dtbustamante@up.edu.ph

 

Rozheanne C Hilario

Instructor

Philippine Arts

rchilario@up.edu.ph

Odessa N Joson, MA

Assistant Professor 

Translation Studies, Cultural Heritage Studies, Philippine Arts

onjoson@up.edu.ph

Ryan E Machado

Lecturer

Philippine Arts, Theater

 

Mishima Z Miciano, MA

Assistant Professor 

English Studies

mzmiciano@up.edu.ph

Ma Caselyn B Morada

Instructor 

English Studies, Communication Research, Organizational Communication

mbmorada@up.edu.ph

Grace Odal-Devora, PhD

Professor

Mythology & Literature; Cultural Heritage & Spirituality; Dance as Healing Art; English & Comparative Literature; Ethnolinguistics, Southeast Asian Arts

gpodaldevora1@up.edu.ph

Jose V Ogatis, MA

Assistant Professor 

Literature, Pop Culture

jvogatis@up.edu.ph

Charette Grace C Pagtalunan

Senior Lecturer

English

ccpagtalunan@up.edu.ph

Dachelle Nicole G Parrocha

Instructor 

Organizational Communication, Communication Research 

dgparrocha@up.edu.ph

Carolina S Pulumbarit, MA

Assistant Professor 

Communciation

cspulumbarit@up.edu.ph

Kenneth Rey Ong Recio

Instructor 

Communication 

korecio@up.edu.ph

Myra L Rondaris, MBA

Lecturer

Organizational Communication, Management

Gina S Salazar, DPA

Associate Professor 

English Studies, Public Administration, Organizational Communication

gssalazar@up.edu.ph

Chadwick Co SY SU, MA

Associate Professor 

Organizational Communication, Pilgrimage Studies, Spanish

ccsysu@post.upm.edu.ph

Arwin M Vibar

Prof. Lecturer

Linguistics

amvibar@up.edu.ph

Rafael A Villar

Associate Professor 

Communication

ravillar@up.edu.ph

Pamela Yu

Senior Lecturer

English 

pyu@up.edu.ph

Consuelo V Zapata

Senior Lecturer

Arts Management 

cvzapata@up.edu.ph