Department of Arts and Communication (DAC)

Vision

A diverse community of artists, professionals, and scholars  engaged in interdisciplinary teaching and research, and public service in the arts, communication, and health


Mission

  • To provide a more holistic approach to health education by applying complementary frameworks that encompass human experience and creativity
  • To produce graduates with a humanistic, cultural, and spiritual orientation in health, and communicative skills and competence in various linguistic modes and media in the context of arts in communities and organizations
  • To apply the arts and various artistic traditions for nation-building, social transformation, and bridging local, national, and international tangible and intangible artistic heritage for a holistic human well-being


Programs Offered

  • Bachelor of Arts in Organizational Communication
    • This program seeks to address the ever-increasing demand for expertise in modern communication as related to organizations in the Philippines.
    • The program aims to present a holistic perspective of organizational dynamics in the modern century by focusing on organization-related communication skills.
    • Click here to see the curriculum
  • Bachelor of Arts in Philippine Arts
    • The program focuses on the study of Philippine art within the context of national culture and history, with special attention to its contribution to the definition and formation of a national identity and the role it plays in social transformation.
    • The program provides rich sources of information and insights into Filipino consciousness and values that are essential to the student’s appreciation of his/her cultural heritage and understanding of himself/herself and his/her relationship with society.


Faculty

Honey Libertine Achanzar-Labor, PhD

Professor 5

Anthropology, Art History

hrachanzarlabor@up.edu.ph

Alice B Adeva, MA

Assistant Professor 7

Speech Communication, Health Communication

abadeva@up.edu.ph

Katherine B Arceta, M

Assistant Professor 4

Organizational Communication, Audio-Visual Communication

kbarceta@up.edu.ph

Ernani M Barrientos, MA

Lecturer 2

Organization Communication and Management

embarrientos@up.edu.ph

Jessalyn Martinez Basco

Assistant Professor 1

Philippine Arts, Architecture

jmbasco@up.edu.ph

Donna Aelred C Bautista, PhD

Associate Professor 7

Art History, Aesthetics

dcbautista@up.edu.ph

 

Juliet R Bien, MA

Assistant Professor 6

Ethnomusicology, Anthropology

jrbien@up.edu.ph

Celia M Bonilla, MA 

Assistant Professor 7

Art History, Writing

cmbonilla@up.edu.ph

Dominador Antonio T Bustamante, MM

Senior Lecturer 1

Organizational Communication and Management

dtbustamante@up.edu.ph

May Janielle T Delfin

Lecturer 2

Organizational Communication and Management

Ma Yra C Dorotheo

Instructor 1

Philippine Arts, Curatorial Studies

mcdorotheo@up.edu.ph

Rozheanne C Hilario

Instructor 4

Art History, Curatorial Studies

rchilario@up.edu.ph

Odessa N Joson, MA

Assistant Professor 7

Filipino, Popular Culture

onjoson@up.edu.ph

Ryan E Machado

Instructor 4

Philippine Arts & Culture

rmachado@up.edu.ph

Mishima Z Miciano, MA

Assistant Professor 5

English Studies, Writing

mzmiciano@up.edu.ph

Ma Caselyn B Morada

Instructor 4

English Studies, Writing

mbmorada@up.edu.ph

Jose V Ogatis I, MA

Assistant Professor 7

Filipino, Popular Culture

jvogatis@up.edu.ph

Charette Grace C Pagtalunan, MA

Senior Lecturer 1

English Studies, Linguistics

ccpagtalunan@up.edu.ph

Dachelle Nicole G Parrocha

Instructor 3

Communication Arts, Writing 

dgparrocha@up.edu.ph

Carolina S Pulumbarit, MA

Assistant Professor 6

Speech Communication, Health Communication

cspulumbarit@up.edu.ph

Kenneth Rey O Recio

Assistant Professor 1

Communication Arts

korecio@up.edu.ph

Myra L Rondaris, MBA

Senior Lecturer 1

Organizational Communication and Management

mlrondaris@up.edu.ph

Gina S Salazar, DPA

Associate Professor 4

Linguistics, Public Administration

gssalazar@up.edu.ph

Chadwick Co SY SU, MA

Associate Professor 2

Communication Studies, Spanish

ccsysu@up.edu.ph

Arwin M Vibar, PhD

Associate Professor 2

English Studies, Linguistics

amvibar@up.edu.ph

Rafael A Villar, MA

Associate Professor 7

Communication, Writing

ravillar@up.edu.ph

Pamela Yu, MA

Senior Lecturer 1

English, Literature

pyu@up.edu.ph

Consuelo V Zapata, PhD

Senior Lecturer 1

Philippine Arts and Management

cvzapata@up.edu.ph